Thanking Senators And Delegates For Their Pro-Life Votes

Over the past several days many people have contacted us to find out how their elected officials voted on the pro-life budget amendment passed by the General Assembly during last month's veto session in order to thank them if they voted favorably. The amendment prohibits taxpayer funding of low-income elective abortions.  Despite deceptive efforts by the abortion industry and their advocates in the General Assembly, 64 delegates and 20 senators held firm and voted to protect the unborn. We are blessed that the House of Delegates regularly supports pro-life legislation, but sometimes, unfortunately, we may take that for granted. The Senate, on the other hand, is the chamber that is regularly hostile to pro-life legislation. So, when it does the right thing, it is very important to thank the senators who voted for life.

Below is the list of delegates and senators who voted yes. To see the complete recorded vote — those who voted yea and nay and not at all — click here for the House and here for the Senate.


YEAS: Abbitt, Albo, Anderson, Athey, Bell, Richard P., Bell, Robert B., Bulova, Byron, Carrico, Cleaveland, Cline, Cole, Comstock, Cosgrove, Cox, J.A., Cox, M.K., Crockett-Stark, Edmunds, Garrett, Gear, Gilbert, Greason, Griffith, Hugo, Iaquinto, Ingram, Janis, Johnson, Jones, Kilgore, Knight, Landes, LeMunyon, Lewis, Lingamfelter, Loupassi, Marshall, D.W., Massie, May, Merricks, Miller, J.H., Miller, P.J., Morefield, Morrissey, Nutter, O'Bannon, Oder, Orrock, Peace, Phillips, Pogge, Poindexter, Pollard, Purkey, Rust, Scott, E.T., Sherwood, Stolle, Tata, Torian, Villanueva, Ware, R.L., Wright, Mr. Speaker (Howell, W.)—64.

NAYS: Abbott, Alexander, Armstrong, BaCote, Barlow, Brink, Carr, Dance, Ebbin, Englin, Filler-Corn, Herring, Hope, Howell, A.T., James, Joannou, Keam, Kory, McClellan, Plum, Scott, J.M., Shuler, Sickles, Spruill, Surovell, Toscano, Tyler, Ward, Ware, O., Watts—30.

ABSTENTIONS: Marshall, R.G.—1.

NOT VOTING: Lohr, McQuinn, Morgan, Putney—4.


YEAS: Blevins, Colgan, Hanger, Hurt, Martin, McDougle, McWaters, Norment, Obenshain, Puckett, Quayle, Reynolds, Ruff, Smith, Stosch, Stuart, Vogel, Wagner, Wampler, Watkins—20.

NAYS: Barker, Deeds, Edwards, Herring, Houck, Howell, Locke, Lucas, Marsden, Marsh, McEachin, Miller, J.C., Miller, Y.B., Northam, Petersen, Puller, Saslaw, Ticer, Whipple—19.

NOT VOTING: Newman—1.

To thank your delegate or senator (or both), click here for the House and here for the Senate to see the respective chambers' directories. Scroll for your legislator(s), click on their names, and access their e-mail or office addresses. We hope you will take the time to make these two clicks and type a few sentences of gratitude to these hard working men and women for making possible, despite a great amount of pressure, Virginia's most important pro-life advancement in in years.

If your delegagte or senator voted no, we recommend you write a respectful note expressing your grave disappointment in their vote to allow your tax dollars to be used to end unborn human life, and that he or she please re-examine the issue for next session. Finally, if you do not know who your senator or delegate is, click here first.