FYI, for the good folks in the 5th Congressional District: U.S Representative Tom Perreillo has released his summer town hall schedule. As with last summer, it's extensive. So, if you are concerned about the issues of the day, and his voting record, you have every opportunity to hear him for yourself, and perhaps ask him questions. Representative Perriello's re-election campaign against Republican Virginia Senator Robert Hurt will be one of the most watched House races in the country this fall (it already has the attention of Sheryl Crow). An early poll, and many pundits, believe the congressman will have a hard go to earn another two years — he won the closest House race in the country in 2008 (700-plus votes) when the tides and stars both were aligned with the Democrats, and was the beneficiary of the Obama machine's large student and new voter registration and turnout. This year, he can't count on a repeat of that and, in a naturally conservative district (his Club For Growth voting record is decidedly liberal), there's a renewed energy  among grassroots conservative activists.  

Thursday, August 5

7:30–9:30 a.m., Charlotte County Board of Supervisors Meeting Room, 250 LeGrande Avenue, Suite A, Charlotte Court House

Saturday, August 7

11:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m., Carysbrook Performing Arts Center, 8880 James Madison Highway (Hwy 15), Fork Union

Monday, August 9

7:30–9:30 a.m., The Nelson Center, 8445 Thomas Nelson Highway, Lovingston

Tuesday, August 10

7:30–9:30 a.m., Scottsville Elementary School, 7868 Scottsville Road, Scottsville

Thursday, August 12

11:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m., Buckingham County Middle School, 1184 High School Road, Buckingham

Saturday, August 14

4:00–6:00 p.m., Swartz Gymnasium, Ferrum College, 445 Ferrum Mountain Road, Ferrum

Monday, August 16

7:30–9:30 a.m., Chatham Community Center, 115 South Main Street, Chatham

Tuesday, August 17

6:00–8:00 p.m., O.T. Bonner Middle School, 300 Apollo Avenue, Danville

Wednesday, August 18

6:00–8:00 p.m., Martinsville High School, 351 Commonwealth Boulevard East, Martinsville

Thursday, August 19

11:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m., Halifax High School, 1030 Mary Bethune Street, South Boston

Friday, August 20

7:30– 9:30 a.m., Ruckersville Fire Station, 50 Sassafras Lane, Ruckersville

Monday, August 30

11:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m., Saint Paul’s College, Chicago Building, Kirby Auditorium, 115 College Drive, Lawrenceville

Tuesday, August 31

6:00–8:00 p.m., Blackwell Hall, Longwood University, 201 High Street, Farmville

Wednesday, September 1

11:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m., Mecklenburg County School Board Meeting Room, 175 Mayfield Drive, Boydton

Thursday, September 2

7:30- 9:30 a.m., Kenbridge Community Center, 511 East 5th Avenue, Kenbridge

Friday, September 3

11:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m., Cumberland Community Center, 13 Community Center Drive, Cumberland

Tuesday, September 7

6:00-8:00 p.m., MLK Performing Arts Center, 1400 Melbourne Road, Charlottesville

Friday, September 10

11:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m., Campbell County Board of Supervisors Meeting Room, Haberer Building, Board Level, 47 Courthouse Lane, Rustburg

Monday, September 13

11:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m., Bedford County Board of Supervisors Meeting Room, County Administration Building, 122 East Main Street, Bedford